maart 05, 2014

Soundtrack - Star Wars (1977)

John Williams' score for Star Wars was recorded over eight sessions at Anvil Studios in Denham, England on March 5, 8–12, 15 and 16, 1977. The score was performed by the London Symphony Orchestra with Williams himself conducting.

The original 1977 release of the soundtrack, entitled Star Wars - Original Soundtrack, included a poster of a painting by science fiction artist John Berkey, depicting the final battle over the Death Star from the film's end. The album was released as a double LP.


The release of Star Wars exponentially changed the face of pop culture. Not since the mainland arrival of the Beatles had such an intense level of fanaticism possessed the American people.

The film's rousing title sequence is as recognizable if not more so than the national anthem, and composer John Williams' Oscar-winning score is a marvel of pulp tension, Holst grandeur, and Wagner-inspired motifs. Never before had the general public been given such memorable, accessible, and instantly identifiable character themes. Williams develops these ideas masterfully at the soundtrack's beginning, allowing the lonely horn-driven "Jedi" theme, like Luke Skywalker himself, the time to grow, waiting patiently before unleashing it in full with the bombastic and ceremonial end piece "The Throne Room." Shadows of the composer's finest contribution, "Imperial March," can be heard brewing beneath the ominous cello section during "Imperial Attack."

The score was orchestrated by frequent Williams' associate Herbert W. Spencer. The score was recorded by engineer Eric Tomlinson and edited by Kenneth Wannberg, and the scoring sessions were produced by Star Wars creator George Lucas and supervised by Lionel Newman, head of 20th Century Fox's music department.

The film premiered on May 25, 1977 and by late summer a disco version of the “Star Wars Theme” by Meco became America's number one song.

Side one
A1. Main Title  (5:20)
A2. Imperial Attack  (6:10)
A3. Princess Leia's Theme  (4:18)
A4. The Desert and the Robot Auction  (2:51)

Side two
B1. Ben's Death and TIE Fighter Attack  (3:46)
B2. The Little People Work  (4:02)
B3. Rescue of the Princess  (4:46)
B4. Inner City  (4:12)
B5. Cantina Band  (2:44)

Side three
C1. The Land of the Sandpeople  (2:50)
C2. Mouse Robot and Blasting Off  (4:01)
C3. The Return Home  (2:46)
C4. The Walls Converge  (4:31)
C5. The Princess Appears  (4:04)

Side four
D1. The Last Battle  (12:05)
D2. The Throne Room and End Title  (5:28)

Conductor, Composed By – John Williams 
Performer – The London Symphony Orchestra
Producer – George Lucas

The Original Soundtrack From The 20th Century-Fox Film
© 1977 20th Century Records

available at:

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten