september 20, 2016

Yes - Yessongs (1973) - 3Lp

Yes are a rock band formed in London, England in 1968 by bassist Chris Squire and singer Jon Anderson.

They reached their critical and commercial peak in the 1970s with a seminal blend of progressive, art and symphonic rock music.
They utilise mystical and cosmic lyrics, often within lengthy compositions utilising complex musical arrangements.

The band's most recent line-up consists of singer Jon Davison, guitarist Steve Howe, bass guitarist Billy Sherwood, keyboardist Geoff Downes, and drummer Alan White.
Squire and guitarist Peter Banks had played together in The Syn and then Mabel Greer's Toyshop. Anderson and later drummer Bill Bruford joined a line-up of Mabel Greer's Toyshop, which evolved into Yes.

Yessongs is the first live album by the English rock band Yes released on 18 May 1973 by Atlantic Records. The album is a compilation of recordings from their North American tours in support of their fourth and fifth studio albums, Fragile (1971) and Close to the Edge (1972), between February and December 1972. Two tracks feature Bill Bruford on drums; the remaining songs feature his replacement, Alan White.

The album opens with the closing section from Igor Stravinsky's orchestral work The Firebird, which has been a standard opening for the majority of Yes concerts since 1971.
The two tracks from the Fragile tour — "Perpetual Change" and "Long Distance Runaround/The Fish (Schindleria Praematurus)" — feature Bill Bruford on drums. The remaining tracks have his successor, Alan White. Bruford performs a drum solo on "Perpetual Change", which is preceded by an extended guitar performance by Howe accompanied by Bruford and Squire.
 "The Fish (Schindleria Praematurus)" is considerably longer than the studio version with bassist Chris Squire playing an extended solo. Keyboardist Rick Wakeman performs a medley of excerpts from his solo album The Six Wives of Henry VIII. Singer Jon Anderson sings a passage from Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring before the medley. "Mood for a Day" is an unaccompanied guitar performance by Steve Howe, who also takes extended solos during "Yours Is No Disgrace" and at the end of "Starship Trooper".

The album was initially released on three albums in a fold-out package featuring artwork by Roger Dean. Inside are four individual panels by Dean which continue a theme that began with Fragile in 1971. On the back cover of Fragile is an image of a small planet breaking apart into several large pieces with a giant sailing spacecraft nearby. The first panel in Yessongs, titled "Escape", shows the craft apparently leading the planetary fragment through space. The second panel ("Arrival") depicts these fragments landing in the waters of a new world. In the third image ("Awakening") this new landscape becomes the habitat for various plant and animal species. The final image ("Pathways") depicts the emergence of civilisation (Dean's cat walked across this piece whilst still wet and its paw prints can be clearly seen). This theme is also the basis of the film Floating Islands. The sailing craft was used as a small logo on many of the band's subsequent albums, and the image sequence inspired Yes vocalist Jon Anderson's first solo album Olias of Sunhillow in 1976, although Roger Dean was not involved with that album's artwork.
The original Bob White plot for the RPG Ultima IX: Ascension compared the original ending of the game to Dean's artwork on Yessongs.

Side A
A1. Opening (Excerpt From Firebird Suite)  (3:45)
A2. Siberian Khatru  (8:50)
A3. Heart Of The Sunrise  (11:26)

Side B
B1. Perpetual Change  (14:08)
B2. And You And I: Cord Of Life / Eclipse / The Preacher And The Teacher / Apocalypse  (9:55)

Side C
C1. Mood For A Day  (2:52
C2. Excerpts From The Six Wives Of Henry VIII  (6:35)
C3. Roundabout  (8:33)

Side D
D1. I’ve Seen All Good People  (7:00)
D2. Long Distance Runaround / The Fish   (13.45)

Side E
E1. Close To The Edge: Solid Time Of Change / Total Mass Retain / I Get Up I Get Down / Seasons Of Man  (18:41)

Side F
F1. Yours Is No Disgrace  (14:21
F2. Starship Trooper: Life Seeker / Disillusion / Wurm  (9:25)

All tracks recorded on tour during 1972.
Released in a gatefold cover with three panels.
Release: 1973
Genre: Rock
Style: Prog Rock
Label: Atlantic Records (3LP)
Catalog# ATL 60045
Price: € 15.00

Vinyl:  Goed
Cover: Goed

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten