mei 29, 2016

Freddy Fender - Before The Next Teardrop Falls (1974) - Lp

Freddy Fender (June 4, 1937 – October 14, 2006), born Baldemar Garza Huerta in San Benito, Texas, United States, was an American Tejano, country and rock and roll musician, known for his work as a solo artist and in the groups Los Super Seven and the Texas Tornados.

He is best known for his 1975 hits "Before the Next Teardrop Falls" and the subsequent remake of his own "Wasted Days and Wasted Nights".

Before the next teardrop falls, one thing is for sure: Another Freddy Fender collection will be issued with the same title as this one, the original blockbuster album that made him a household name among an audience that extended well beyond country fans, at least for a few years. "Before the Next Teardrop Falls" was such a smash hit that record companies cashing in on Fender's popularity just had to use it on their releases.

The concept of calling these packages "greatest hits" never occurred to anybody, apparently. Thus the consumer might think they are buying this particular album when they are not, so careful.
Although the later "Before" albums are perfectly good records, like most Fender productions, he really struck a tasty groove on the original 1974 session, done with a small band of his usual bandmates and studio accomplices. Obviously the same players are featured on all the tracks, creating great continuity and a pleasing flow to the light country-rock sound. Of course, there is the surprise appearance of a harpsichord but that hardly shakes the Tex-Mex foundation.
The group's success was not just limited to the album's big hit.

Even better tracks are here, such as Fender's own hilarious song "I Love My Rancho Grande," a few covers of great country songs such as "Wild Side of Life," and the obligatory Fender "fool" song (this time it's "I'm Not a Fool Anymore"). And to no surprise, he pulls off an effective version of the weepy "Roses Are Red" to kick things off. Maybe best of all is the fantastic honky tonk song "You Can't Get There From Here." This is surely the must-have Fender album in a country fan's collection.

A1. Roses Are Red (3:10)
A2. I’m Not A Fool Anymore (2:30)
A3. Please Don’t Tell Me How The Story Ends (2:35)
A4. You Can’t Get Here From There (2:56)
A5. I Love My Rancho Grande (2:48)
A6. Wasted Days And Wasted Nights (2:52)

B1. I Almost Called Your Name (2:31)
B2. Before The Next Teardrop Falls (2:32)
B3. Wild Side Of Life (3:08)
B4. After The Fire Is Gone (2:57)
B5. Then You Can Tell Me Goodbye (2:12)

Release:  1974
Genre:  Country
Format:  LP
Label:  MCA Records
Catalog# 201401

Vinyl:  Users Marks
Cover:  Users Marks

€ 2.50

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten