augustus 27, 2015

Tom Jones - Live At Caesar´s Palace (1971)

Sir Thomas Jones Woodward, (born 7 June 1940), is a Welsh singer known by his stage name Tom Jones.

He became one of the most popular vocalists to emerge from the mid-1960s. Since then, he has sung nearly every form of popular music pop, rock, R&B, show tunes, country, dance, soul, and gospel and sold over 100 million records.

Tom really mixes it up in this energetic 1971 performance, singing everything from Soul Man to My Way to his own hits She's a Lady and I (Who Have Nothing) . He also tosses his screaming fans a "hit medley" ( I'll Never Fall in Love Again/Daughter of Darkness/Love Me Tonight/It's Not Unusual ) and a "rock 'n' roll medley" ( Johnny B. Goode/Bony Moronie/Long Tall Sally ).

Of all the live Tom Jones albums this one comes closest to the "feel" of his fabulous TV variety show from 1969 to 1971. The arrangements sound essentially the same as on "This Is Tom Jones" and his performance is typically...Tom Jones.

The burning opener, "Dance of Love", sets the tone and mood of the show. Although a little light lyrically, it does seems to borrow from the Everly Brothers' version of Little Richard's "Lucille", and so we're right in Jones' musical territory - sock it to 'em, Big Tom. Soon he settles in for many expected romantic bombasts like "Till" and "Delilah". Ofcourse, at the end it's Richard's "Long Tall Sally" which takes 'em home.

Side A
A1.  Dance Of Love  (2:41)
A2.  Cabaret  (3:28)
A3.  Soul Man  (3:41)
A4.  I (Who Have Nothing)  (3:51)
A5.  Delilah  (4:15)
A6.  Bridge Over Troubled Water  (4:16)
A7.  My Way  (4:39)
A8.  God Bless The Children  (3:24)

Side B
B1.  Resurrection Shuffle  (4:37)
B2.  She's A Lady  (2:27)
B3.  Till  (2:23)
B4.  Hit Medley (I'll Never Fall In Love Again / Daughter Of Darkness / Love Me Tonight / It's Not Unusual)  (6:44)
B5.  Hi Heel Sneakers  (4:07)
B6.  Rock 'N' Roll Medley (Johnny B. Goode / Bony Moronie / Long Tall Sally)  (5:03)

Artist:  Tom Jones
Title:  Live At Caesar´s Palace
Release: 1971
Format:  LP
Label:  MFP Records
Catalog#  MFP 50351

more info:

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten