september 12, 2016

Elvis Presley - That´s The Way It Is (1970) - Lp

Elvis: That's the Way It Is is the 40th album by Elvis Presley, released on RCA Records, LSP 4445, in November 1970. It consists of eight studio tracks recorded at RCA Studio B in Nashville, and four live in-concert tracks recorded at The International Hotel in Las Vegas.
It accompanied the theatrical release of the documentary film of the same name (although it is not generally considered a soundtrack album), and peaked at number 21 on the Billboard 200.

That's the Way It Is is arguably where Elvis Presley's discography gets very confusing. Sharing a title with Denis Sanders' 1970 documentary of Elvis' return to the stage, That's the Way It Is in its original 1970 LP incarnation isn't precisely a soundtrack to the film. In fact, only a third of the album captures Presley live on-stage in Vegas, with the remainder of the record derived from sessions he recorded in Nashville just a few months prior to launching his long-standing gig at the International Hotel. Vegas looms large over Elvis' legend in the '70s and many of the clichés -- the jumpsuits, the splashy arrangements of contemporary standards, the snazzy melodies of his old hits -- were born on That's the Way It Is, either on film or on the record.

In its original LP incarnation, this wasn't especially apparent due to the record's reliance on the Nashville sessions, where Elvis recorded a fair share of perfectly pleasant middle-of-the-road material pitched halfway between Hollywood and Music City. These tunes -- "Twenty Days and Twenty Nights," "How the Web Was Woven," "Just Pretend," and "Stranger in the Crowd" -- are easy to spot because they're by songwriters without marquee names (Colonel Tom Parker insisted Elvis take a larger percentage of publishing, which kept away many writers) and, more tellingly.
They may not have been part of Presley's repertoire but they do indicate how he was shifting away from the soulful, funky sound inspired by his 1968 comeback into something that felt showbiz. The live recordings, though, show that he was still performing with passion, figuring out what worked on-stage and what didn't after his long hiatus from performing. Again, this isn't so apparent on the 1970 LP, which was basically a good studio album that essayed Elvis' new persona for the coming decade.
When he retained the power of his 1968 comeback and had yet to succumb to all the glitz of Vegas.

Side A
A1.  I Just Can’t Help Believin’ (4:25)
A2.  Twenty Days And Twenty Nights  (3:15)
A3.  How The Web Was Woven (3:25)
A4.  Patch It Up (3:51)
A5.  Mary In The Morning (4:10)
A6.  You Don’t Have To Say You Love Me  (2:29)

Side B
B1.  You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’ (4:20)
B2.  I’ve Lost You (3:30)
B3.  Just Pretend  (4:02)
B4.  Stranger In The Crowd  (3:46)
B5.  The Next Step Is Love  (3:30)
B6.  Bridge Over Troubled Water (4:03)

Arranged By [Horn & Strings] – Cam Mullins, Bergen White, David Briggs, Norbert Putnam, Glen Hardin
Chorus – The Imperials Quartet, The Sweet Inspirations

Release: 1970
Genre:  Rock & Roll
Label:  RCA Victor Records
Catalog#  LSP-4445
Price: € 5.00

Vinyl:  Goed
Cover:  Gebruikerssporen

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten