september 06, 2016

Leo Kottke - Best Of Leo Kottke 1971-1976 (1976) - Lp

Leo Kottke (born September 11, 1945, Athens, Georgia, U.S.) is an acoustic guitarist.
He is known for a fingerpicking style that draws on blues, jazz, and folk music, and for syncopated, polyphonic melodies.
 He overcame a series of personal obstacles, including partial loss of hearing and a nearly career-ending bout with tendon damage in his right hand to emerge as a widely recognized master of his instrument. He currently resides in the Minneapolis area with his family.

Focusing primarily on instrumental composition and playing, Kottke also sings sporadically, in an unconventional yet expressive baritone described by himself as sounding like "geese farts on a muggy day". In concert, Kottke intersperses humorous and often bizarre monologues with vocal and instrumental selections from throughout his career, played solo on his 6- and 12-string guitars.

Leo Kottke: 1971–1976 is a compilation album of songs released on Capitol during Kottke's tenure with that label. It is sometimes referred to as Did You Hear Me? due to the handwritten caption on the photo on the cover. It peaked at #153 on the Billboard Pop Albums charts.

After the release of Chewing Pine, Kottke subsequently signed with Chrysalis Records. Six of the songs here were edited or re-mixed for this release. The track "Morning is the Long Way Home" is an edited down version of the original release from Ice Water, minus the vocals. Kottke would re-record this version again in 1999 on One Guitar, No Vocals.
The song "Pamela Brown" was also featured as the sole Leo Kottke track in a promotional-only compilation album from 1976 issued by Capitol records entitled The Greatest Music Ever Sold (Capitol SPRO-8511/8512), which was distributed to record stores during the 1976 Holiday season as part of Capitol's "Greatest Music Ever Sold" campaign. The campaign promoted 15 different Best Of... albums released by the label. Each of the actual albums represented were adorned with a gold-foiled round sticker which read "The Greatest Music Ever Sold", adhered to the front of the shrinkwrap.

Side A
A1. Morning Is The Long Way Home
A2. June Bug
A3. When Shrimps Learn To Whistle
A4. Room 8
A5. Cripple Creek
A6. Pamela Brown
A7. Standing On The Outside

Side B
B1. Grim To The Brim
B2. Power Failure
B3. You Tell Me Why
B4. Why Ask Why?
B5. Open Country Joy (Constant Traveler)
B6. All Through The Night
B7. The Scarlatti Rip-Off

Companies, etc.


Release: 1976
Label: Capitol Records
Genre: Folk, World, & Country
Style: Country, Folk
Catalog# CAPS 1003
Price: € 5,00

Vinyl: Goed
Cover: Goed

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten