september 08, 2016

Milli Vanilli - 2 x 2 (1988) - 2Lp

Milli Vanilli was a German R&B duo from Munich. The group was founded by Frank Farian in 1988 and consisted of Fab Morvan and Rob Pilatus.

The group's debut album Girl You Know It's True achieved international success and earned them a Grammy Award for Best New Artist on 21 February 1990. Milli Vanilli became one of the most popular pop acts in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

Their success quickly turned to infamy when Morvan, Pilatus and their agent Sergio Vendero confessed that Morvan and Pilatus did not actually sing any of the vocals heard on the record. The pair decided to return the Grammy awards and asked they be given to the real vocalists. The group recorded a comeback album in 1998, but Rob Pilatus died before the album was released.

2×2 is a double album by Milli Vanilli which was released in the United Kingdom in 1989.
LP one of the album contains the original European studio album All or Nothing,
LP two contains the All or Nothing remix album.

While in the U.S. Arista Records renamed, remixed and repackaged the first Milli Vanilli album All or Nothing as Girl You Know It's True and broke the act in that market with that method, in the U.K. BMG decided to issue both All or Nothing releases as a double album. This is evident in the cassette version of the release where one cassette has a label (covering the "All or Nothing" title typography) and the other cassette does not.

LP one and LP two also contain exactly the same "NY Subway Version" of "Girl You Know It's True" (lifted from the 12" single) despite the first disc version not being labeled so. Although it was not marketed as a package of two albums in the U.K., another tell-tale sign is the inclusion of two mixes of a non-single track "Dreams to Remember" and only one version of "Blame It on the Rain".

Side A
A1.  Can’t You Feel My Love  (3:32)
A2.  Boy In The Tree  (3:10)
A3.  Money  (4:09)
A4.  Dance With The Devil  (3:12)
A5.  Girl I’m Gonna Miss You  (3:59)
A6.  All Or Nothing  (3:19)

Side B
B1.  Baby Don’t Forget My Number  (4:09)
B2.  Dreams To Remember (3:56)
B3.  Is It Love (3:22)
B4.  Ma Baker (4:24)
B5.  Girl You Know It’s True

Side C
C1.  Blame It On The Rain (Club Mix – Long Version)  (6:38)
C2.  More Than You’ll Ever Know  (3:53)
C3.  Take It As It Comes  (4:12)
C4.  It’s Your Thing  (4:07)
C5.  Dreams To Remember (Remix)  (3:45)

Side D
D1.  All Or Nothing (Club Mix)  (4:30)
D2.  Baby Don’t Forget My Number (Remix)  (4:54)
D3.  Girl I’m Gonna Miss You (Remix)  (5:07)
D4.  Girl You Know It’s True (N.Y. Subway Mix – Long Version)  (6:27)

  • Artwork By [Design By] – Stephen Horse
  • Photography – Paul Cox
  • ProducerFrank Farian

Release: 1988
Genre: Electronic, Hip Hop, Pop 
Style: House, Pop Rap 
Label: Cooltempo Records 
Catalog# 1724
Price: € 10,00

Vinyl: Goed
Cover: Goed

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten