oktober 21, 2016

The Kinks - Golden Hour Of The Kinks (1971) - Lp

The Kinks were an English rock band formed in Muswell Hill, North London, in 1963 by brothers Dave and Ray Davies.
They are regarded as one of the most important and influential rock groups of the era.
The band emerged in 1964 during the height of British rhythm and blues and Merseybeat, and were briefly part of the British Invasion of the US until their touring ban in 1965.

The selection is just perfect and I guess I will just have to recreate it on my iPod! I had only heard some of the mid-70's Kinks (Schoolboys, Sleepwalker, Preservation Act 1) at the time I got this record, and once I heard Golden Hour, I really knew why the Kinks were among the immortal British bands--and why Ray Davies was the songwriting equal of Lennon/McCartney, Townsend, Jagger/Richards, etc. Although you will love EVERY song on Golden Hour,

I encourage you to get the original albums from which these gems are harvested: Face to Face, Something Else, Lola Powerman & Apeman vs. the Money-go-Round, Village Green Preservation Society, Arthur and a few other early ones.
In particular, Lola, Face to Face and VGPS are among the best records made by any band--EVER; that is, if you like melodic, poetic, wry pop-rock that can range from gentle ballad to edgy garage.
They have all been reissued on terrific great-spounding remastered versions with some incredible extra tracks. But--Golden Hour is a tremendous introduction to the roots of the Kinks, starting with You Really Got Me and going through Days, say 1964-1970, and the selection and sequencing of the songs is truly artful.

Side A
A1.  Days  (2:54)
A2.  Wonder Boy  (2:49)
A3.  Autumn Almanac  (3:10)
A4.  Waterloo Sunset  (3:15)
A5.  Dedicated Follower Of Fashion  (2:58)
A6.  Dead End Street  (3:18)
A7.  Set Me Free  (2:10)
A8.  Sunny Afternoon  (3:28)
A9.  Till The End Of The Day  (2:18)
A10. Sittin’ On My Sofa  (3:00)

Side B
B1.  Victoria  (3:36)
B2.  A Well Respected Man  (2:11)
B3.  You Really Got Me  (2:13)
B4.  All Day And All Of The Night  (2:20)
B5.  Tired Of Waiting For You  (2:30)
B6.  See My Friends  (2:40)
B7.  Louie Louie  (2:53)
B8.  Animal Farm  (2:59)
B9.  Shangrila  (5:16)
B10. Where Have All The Good Times Gone  (2:49)

Companies, etc.
  • Mastered ByG (tracks: A1 to A10), MB (tracks: B1 to B10)
  • Written-ByR. Berry (tracks: B7)
  • Written-By, Composed ByR. D. Davies (tracks: A1 to B6, B8 to B10) 

Release: 1971
Genre: Rock
Label: Golden Hour Records
Catalog# GH 501
€ 10.00

Vinyl: Goed
Hoes: Goed


0 reacties:

Een reactie posten