september 03, 2017

Sandy Posey - Born A Woman (1982) - Lp

Sandy Posey (born June 18, 1944) is an American popular singer, who enjoyed success in the 1960s with singles such as her 1966 recording of Martha Sharpe's composition, "Single Girl." She is often described as a country singer, although, like Skeeter Davis (to whom she has been frequently compared) her output has varied.
Later in her career, the term "countrypolitan," associated with the "Nashville sound", was sometimes applied. Posey had four hit singles in the United States, three of which peaked at number 12 on the Hot 100.
Sandy Posey was born Sandra Lou Posey in Jasper, Alabama. She graduated from high school in West Memphis, AR in 1962. Posey obtained work as a session singer, after she was recommended by an aunt to an acquaintance who worked in television.
In addition to working as a receptionist at a studio in Memphis, she took part in recording sessions across the Deep South including sessions produced by Lincoln “Chips" Moman for Elvis Presley and on Percy Sledge’s "When a Man Loves a Woman" (a number one hit in the US in 1966). Other singers whom she backed included Joe Tex, Bobby Goldsboro and Tommy Roe.

Posey turned to the country music field in 1971, signing with Columbia Records and produced by Billy Sherrill. Sherrill had just successfully turned another 1960s pop star, Jody Miller into a leading country female vocalist and it appeared Posey might be another one when the first single, "Bring Him Safely Home to Me" hit the top 20. However it was not to be with only two other singles barely scraping into the top 40.
 Posey signed with Monument Records in 1976 with just one single to chart and later in the year moved to Warner Bros. Records. Her first single for the label inauspiciously peaked at No. 93 but in 1978 and 1979 enjoyed three top 30 country hits before this brief comeback faded away with the new decade.
Posey occasionally recorded as a solo artist into the early 1980s but she reverted to occasional background session work and later briefly performed as a background vocalist for Skeeter Davis on an international tour. She made a number of country recordings with a religious theme after embracing Christianity in 1974.

Side A
A1. She’s Got You
A2. Young Love
A3. Since I Met You Baby
A4. Don’t Break The Heart That Loves You
A5. So Sad (To Watch Good Love Go Bad)
A6. Don’t Say Nothin’ Bad (About My Baby)
A7. I Love How You Love Me
A8. Be My Baby

Side B
B1. Born A Woman
B2. Single Girl
B3. I Take It Back
B4. Put Your Hand In The Hand
B5. Let’s All Go Down The River
B6. Devoted To You
B7. I Will Follow Him
B8. All I Have To Do Is Dream

Release: 1982
Genre: Country
Format: LP
Label: K-Tel Records
Catalog# TN 1791

Vinyl: Goed
Hoes: Goed

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten