oktober 08, 2015

Tom Principato Band - I Know What You're Thinkin' (1988)

Tom Principato (born 1952) is an American electric blues and blues rock singer, guitarist, and songwriter.

This release for the Tom Principato Band after the leader Tom Principato launched his solo career. Continuing in the grand tradition of their first album "Smokin'" , the guitarist/vocalist again partners with Steve Wolf on bass and Clark Matthews on drums.

This trio, assisted here and there by organ fills and horn arrangements, is a real threat, and they dish out some fine rock-n-roll that is infused with some jazz and some blues/soul.

Tom Principato contributes 2 originals, the jumping "Try to Reach You" and the searing instrumental "Blue Lights", which is one of the best songs he ever wrote. "Blue Lights" certainly finds a rival in the title track of Tom's "In The Clouds" album, it is definitely a composition that should have been considered for a Grammy.

Steve Wolf, who is a remarkable bass player in his own right, contributes 3 originals that bring a greater strength and diversity to the album. With Steve Wolf paired up with Clark Matthews on drums, the rhythm section in this power trio is rock solid and tighter than a bull's butt.

The choice of covers on this album is quite fun: "Congo Square" by Sonny Landreth, "Never Make a Move Too Soon" which has been a staple in BB King's repertoire, and "Honeydripper" by Art Neville.

The band does an excellent job with the covers, really making them their own and delivering a really fun rendition of  "Never Make a Move Too Soon" Tom also nails the vocals down to a tee on this great tune.

That being said, Tom does a super job with the vocals throughout.

Side A
A1.  I Won't Recover  (3:56) 
A2.  Never Make Your Move Too Soon  (5:16) 
A3.  Rose Marie  (3:50) 
A4. Blue Lights  (6:13) 

Side B
B1.  Congo Square  (5:50) 
B2.  Try To Reach You   (Vocals [Harmony Vocals]: Clark Matthews)  (3:00) 
B3.  I Know What You're Thinkin'  (3:50) 
B4.  Honeydripper  (5:29) 

Tom Principato - vocals, guitar, steel guitar, lap steel guitar, electric bass, 6-string bass
Steve Wolf - Bass
Clark Matthews - vocals, drums
Tom Lepson - vocals
Scott Young - tenor saxophone, horns
Pete Barrenbregge - tenor saxophone
Dave Brink - baritone saxophone
Vaughn Nark, Bruce Gates - trumpet
Rick Lillard - trombone
David Palmer - drums, percussion
Cindy Wallman, Margot Kunkel, Mary Chapin Carpenter - background vocals

Enginered by - Bob Dawson
Executive Producer - Tom Grady
Mixed & Mastered from Analog Multi-Track Tapes
Producer – Bob Dawson, Steve Wolf, Tom Principato

Recorded at Bias Recording Studio, Springfield, VA, 1987
Release: 1988
Genre:  Rock, Blues
Format:  LP
Label: Powerhouse Records
Catalog#  P-103

more info: ad-vinylrecords.com

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten