maart 13, 2016

Kayak - Phantom Of The Night [US Version] (1978) - Lp

Kayak are a Dutch progressive rock band formed in 1972 in the city Hilversum by Ton Scherpenzeel and Pim Koopman
Their main popularity was in the Netherlands, with their top hit (Ruthless Queen) reaching No. 6 on the Dutch charts in March 1979.  They disbanded in 1982 after releasing nine albums.
Co-founder Ton Scherpenzeel is the only member who plays on every Kayak album. Apart from keyboards, he also plays accordion and occasional bass guitar.
Drummer Pim Koopman was also a founder member. After "The Last Encore" he decided to leave the band; he was offered a job as a full-time producer, working with Dutch artists Maywood, Valensia, Robby Valentine and Petra Berger. He came back as drummer of Kayak in 1999.
Long-time Kayak fan Edward Reekers became lead singer in 1978, when Max Werner changed to drums. The first song he recorded was "Ruthless Queen", which became Kayak's biggest hit. He remained lead singer until 1982.
From 1978 until 1981, Kayak was augmented by two female background singers. Katherine Lapthorn, wife of bassist Peter Scherpenzeel, sang on three studio albums.

Phantom of the Night is their 6th studio album. "Ruthless Queen" was released as a single, becoming the band's biggest hit, nearing the top of the charts in the Netherlands.
In the United States, the LP (with a different sleeve design) was also released as a picture disc, in a limited edition of 3,000 copies.

Featuring slick harmonizing and heavily compressed drum, this release completed Kayak's transition to keyboard-based pop.

The once-intricate bass playing is now almost absent from the mix, and odd times are forsaken for rigid 4/4 patterns.
Despite this, the undistinguished single "Ruthless Queen" proved to be the band's biggest hit, nearing the top of the charts in Holland.

Though Edward Reekers is consistently too squeaky-clean in his singing, "Journey Through Time" might satisfy old fans with its trading off of riffs between an off-kilter guitar hook and synth flutes.
 "Crime of Passion" marches over a martial piano line, and "No Man's Land" makes the most of a driving (if simple) rhythm section underlying needling guitar solos and warbling Hammond organ. If this album retains much interest, though, it's probably more for its original vinyl issue as a nifty picture disc than for the music on it.

Side A
A1. Keep The Change  (3:38)
A2. Winning Ways  (3:35)
A3. Daphne (Laurel Tree)  (5:06)
A4. Journey Through Time  (3:24)
A5. Phantom Of The Night  (5:03)

Side B
B1. Crime Of Passion  (3:30)
B2. The Poet And The One Man Band  (4:10)
B3. Ruthless Queen  (4:47)
B4. No Man's Land  (4:00)
B5. First Signs Of Spring  (3:39)

Release: 1978
Genre: Progressive Rock
Format: LP
Label: Janus Records
Catalog# JXS - 7039

Vinyl:  Goed
Hoes:  Goed

€ 10.00 

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten