september 21, 2016

Helmut Zacharias And His Orchestra - Plays The Hits (1969) - Lp

Helmut Zacharias (27 January 1920 – 28 February 2002) was a German violinist and composer who created over 400 works and sold 14 million records. He also appeared in number of films, usually playing musicians.

In 1940, Zacharias was discovered by Lindström-Electrola (then-name of the German branch of EMI) and in 1941 had his first mainstream success with Schönes Wetter Heute.
By the 1950s, he was considered to be one of the best jazz violinists of Europe and was dubbed "The Magic Violinist" and "Germany's Mr. Violin". In 1956 he achieved his greatest success in the United States with the release of "When the White Lilacs Bloom Again" which, on 22 September, reached number 12 on the Billboard Hot 100. On 21 November 1964 he reached number 9 in the UK Singles Chart with Tokyo Melody, following its use as theme music for the BBC's coverage of the 1964 Summer Olympics.

Zacharias moved to Switzerland in the late 1950s and continued playing with many other famous artists, including Yehudi Menuhin. From 1968 to 1973 he appeared in his own television show. In 1985, he was awarded the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany.

Zacharias had been detected as suffering from Alzheimer's disease in 1995 and retired from public life in 1997 before the fact was publicly acknowledged on World Alzheimer's Day in 2000. He died in 2002 in Brissago, Switzerland and is buried in Ohlsdorf Cemetery in Hamburg.

His album "Zacharias Plays The Hits" was released in 1969, and covers some of the great hits from that time. Europe´s favorite orchestra / Arranged and Conducted by Helmut Zacharias.

Side A
A1.  Brown Eyed Woman  (3:20)  
A2.  Naturally Stoned  (2:30)  
A3.  Reach Out For Me  (2:59)  
A4.  Respect  (2:28)  
A5.  Hurdy Gurdy Man  (2:34)  
A6.  (There’s) Always Something There To Remind Me  (2:37)

Side B
B1.  Light My Fire  (3:28)  
B2.  I Say A Little Prayer  (2:21)  
B3.  Baby Love  (2:32)  
B4.  The House That Jack Built  (2:25)  
B5.  Satisfaction  (3:11)

Release: 1969
Genre: Jazz
Style: Easy Listening
Label: Columbia
Catalog# 1C 062-28018
Price: € 10.00

vinyl:  goed
Cover:  goed

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten