oktober 08, 2016

Ray Charles - Ray Charles (1974) - 2Lp

Ray Charles Robinson (September 23, 1930 – June 10, 2004), known professionally as Ray Charles, was an American singer, songwriter, musician, and composer. Among friends and fellow musicians he preferred being called "Brother Ray". He was often referred to as "The Genius". Charles was blind from the age of seven.
He pioneered the genre of soul music during the 1950s by combining blues, rhythm and blues, and gospel styles into the music he recorded for Atlantic Records. He also contributed to the integration of country and rhythm and blues and pop music during the 1960s with his crossover success on ABC Records, most notably with his two Modern Sounds albums. While he was with ABC, Charles became one of the first African-American musicians to be granted artistic control by a mainstream record company.
Charles cited Nat King Cole as a primary influence, but his music was also influenced by country, jazz, blues, and rhythm and blues artists of the day, including Louis Jordan and Charles Brown. In the late forties he became friends with Quincy Jones, to whom he learned the ropes of arranging jazz music. Their friendship would last till the end of Charles' life.

In 2002, Rolling Stone ranked Charles at number ten on their list of the "100 Greatest Artists of All Time".

This compilation double album was released in 1974
Gatefold cover with a catalog of the "2 L.P."-series of London Records
Distributed by Fonior Brussels/Belgium - A division of the International Pelgrims Group IPG
Made in France imp. A.R.E.A.C.E.M.

The first album (side-A and side-B) also released separate as: "The World Of Ray Charles"

Side A
A1.  I Can’t Stop Loving You  (4:14)
A2.  Feudin’ And Fightin’  (2:10)
A3.  I’m Gonna Move To The Outskirts Of Town  (3:40)
A4.  Worried Mind  (2:53)
A5.  Two Ton Tessie  (3:54)
A6.  Smack Dab In The Middle  (3:15)

Side B
B1.  Georgia On My Mind  (3:38)
B2.  Ma (She’s Making Eyes At Me) (3:25)
B3.  Born To Lose  (3:16)
B4.  Where Can I Go  (3:30)
B5.  That Lucky Old Sun (Just Rolls Around Heaven All Day) (4:20)
B6.  Hit The Road Jack  (1:20)

Side C
C1.  Till There Was You (4:06)
C2.  If You Go Away  (5:11)
C3.  It Takes So Little Time (3:46)
C4.  Come Live With Me (3:23)

Side D
D1.  Somebody (4:06)
D2.  Problems, Problems (3:01)
D3.  Where Was He (2:52)
D4.  Louise (3:06)
D5.  Everybody Sing (4:06)

Release: 1974
Genre: Rhythm & Blues
Label: London Records
Catalog# DA 157
Price: € 10,00

Vinyl:  Good
Cover:  Good


0 reacties:

Een reactie posten