oktober 09, 2016

John Denver - Autograph (1980) - Lp

Henry John Deutschendorf, Jr. (December 31, 1943 – October 12, 1997), known professionally as John Denver, was an American musician, singer-songwriter, record producer, activist, actor and humanitarian, whose greatest commercial success was as a solo singer, starting in the 1970s.
He was one of the most popular acoustic artists of the decade and one of its best-selling artists.

By 1974, he was firmly established as America's best-selling performer, and AllMusic has described Denver as "among the most beloved entertainers of his era". After traveling and living in numerous locations while growing up in his military family, Denver began his music career in folk music groups in the late 1960s. Throughout his life, Denver recorded and released approximately 300 songs, about 200 of which he composed, with total sales of over 33 million.

He recorded and performed primarily with an acoustic guitar and sang about his joy in nature, his enthusiasm for music, and his relationship trials. Denver's music appeared on a variety of charts, including country music, the Billboard Hot 100, and adult contemporary, in all earning him twelve gold and four platinum albums with his signature songs "Take Me Home, Country Roads", "Annie's Song", "Rocky Mountain High", "Thank God I'm a Country Boy", and "Sunshine on My Shoulders".

Autograph is the 14th album by American singer-songwriter John Denver released in February 1980.
John Denver's music has always expressed themes of peace, harmony, and nature, and there is yet another dose of this spirit right here for those who love him. Imagine John Denver, the ever-so charismatic, message-bearing singer/songwriter/prophet, delivering songs with a high-intensity group of fellow musicians. It is here, during the recording sessions of Autograph, that Denver pulls out his magic, singing joyous mountain-music jams and sweet, teary-eyed ballads with his backup group, his friends the Sharks. Johnny and the Sharks come through here with grace and pizzazz, delivering messages of laughter, hope, and wisdom through strong folk storytelling.

The opening of the record sustains with rich color and enchantment, attached to a wistful, lighthearted jam. "Dancing With the Mountains" is certainly danceable, as much as "In My Heart" is smooth and easygoing, ready for the slow-dance scene. "The Ballad of St. Anne's Reel" is filled with texture, percussive wittiness, and vibrant, long-lasting jamming.
The Sharks and Denver go airborne during this tune, appearing to soar to higher heights with eagles in cobalt mountain skies. Denver's merry charisma shines through with delightful resonance during his yodeling and singing in "Wrangell Mountain Song," a song about how "time goes by so slowly": a song about the excitement of anticipation. Dashing further away from Denver's pop-folk rock ballad formula is the hauntingly beautiful tune "Whalebones and Crosses," a charming, prophetic statement of grief, gratitude, and compassion for those sailors and loved ones, those fallen fathers lost to the perils of sea. "American Child" rings clear with visions of the icy blue seas of Alaska, and the adventurous trek of a child to pursue his dreams, to find a sense of solitude and fulfillment.
The land of the midnight sun soon unfolds into the following tune of deep lyrical sentiment, "You May Say the Battle Is Over." "Most men are ruthless, but some will still weep when the gifts we were given are gone," is a strong statement of a melody that carries themes of peace, and of those who wish and pray, "let the war be over." Autograph is a genuine and sentimental statement displaying the strong and crafty songwriting of John Denver.

Denver was an avid pilot and died in a single-fatality crash of his personal experimental aircraft at the age of 53.

Side A
A1.  Dancing With The Mountains  (3:55)   
A2.  The Mountain Song  (4:38)   
A3.  How Mountain Girls Can Love  (2:13)   
A4.  Song For The Life  (3:44)   
A5.  The Ballad Of St. Anne’s Reel  (3:22)   
A6.  In My Heart  (3:42)  

Side B
B1.  Wrangell Mountain Song  (2:53)   
B2.  Whalebones And Crosses  (4:37)   
B3.  American Child  (3:17)   
B4.  You Say That The Battle Is Over  (2:39)   

B5.  Autograph  (3:36) 

  • John Denver - Vocals, 6 & 12 string guitars
  • Hal Blaine - Drums, percussion
  • James Burton - Electric & acoustic guitars, dobro
  • Emory Gordy, Jr. - Bass, mandolin
  • Glen D. Hardin - Keyboards
  • Jim Horn - Reeds
  • Herb Pedersen - Banjo, electric & acoustic guitars
  • Denny Brooks - Acoustic guitar
  • Danny Wheetman - Mandolin, harmonica
  • Backing vocals - Renee Armand-Horn, Denny Brooks, Herb Pedersen & Danny Wheetman
  • Orchestral Arrangements - Lee Holdridge
  • Producer - Milton Okun
  • Recording Engineer - Ed Barton
  • Assistant Engineers - Ralph Osborn, Tchad Blake, Andrew Clark, Andy Todd & Randy Pipes
  • Recorded At - Filmways/Heider Studios, Hollywood, California June 11–21, 1979
  • A & R Coordination - Lynne Morse
  • LP Cover Photo - Edgar Boyles
  • LP Liner Photo - John Denver
  • LP Lyric Sleeve Photo - Scott Hensel/Gribbitt!
  • LP Art Direction & Design - Tim Bryant/Gribbitt!

Release: 1980
Genre: Folk, Pop Country
Label: RCA Records
Catalog# PL-13449

Vinyl: Gebruikerssporen
Cover: Slecht

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten