mei 14, 2016

Aretha Franklin - Ten Years Of Gold (1976) - Lp

Aretha Louise Franklin (born March 25, 1942) is an American singer–songwriter and musician.

Franklin began her career singing gospel at her father, minister C. L. Franklin's church as a child. 
In 1960, at the age of 18, Franklin embarked on a secular career, recording for Columbia Records but only achieving modest success. 

Following her signing to Atlantic Records in 1967, Franklin achieved commercial acclaim and success with songs such as "Respect", "(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman" and "Think". 

These hits and more helped her to gain the title The Queen of Soul by the end of the 1960s decade.

This is a nice collection from 1976 of Aretha's best stuff (some of it) on Atlantic, the label that was home to her absolute best music.  These songs are all available on any number of collections, but it's nice to spin this one on the turntable.

The Atlantic sessions were truly special with Jerry Wexler producing those fabulous early sessions with The MG's backing up Aretha. You know all the songs, they're timeless.

It's also nice to see the Curtis Mayfield produced "Something He Can Feel" on here.  It's Aretha singing at her sexiest, and Mayfield's arrangement is sweet.

If anyone asks why they call Aretha "the queen of Soul", just put this on, she'll do the rest.

Side A
A1. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)  (2:42)
A2. Respect  (2:26)
A3. Baby, I Love You  (2:37)
A4. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman  (2:42)
A5. Think  (2:17)
A6. See Saw  (2:44)
A7. Spanish Harlem  (3:32)

Side B
B1. Rock Steady  (3:12)
B2. Day Dreaming  (3:58)
B3. Angel  (4:28)
B4. Until You Come Back To Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do)  (3:26)
B5. Something He Can Feel  (6:19)

Release: 1976
Genre:  Soul
Format:  LP
Label:  Atlantic Records
Catalog#  K50328

Vinyl:  Goed
Hoes:  Goed

€ 10.00

0 reacties:

Een reactie posten